Contact Sheet

For the first row of pictures I adjusted the dots per inch (dpi) for each image. The first image is the dpi that computer screens show images at (72). However, if it was printed out at 72 dpi it wouldn’t look the same. This is because the dpi should be at 300 minimum for images to be clear when printed. In order to get here I uploaded the image from the folder that was in thawspace into photoshop and went to the image heading at the top of photoshop. Then I clicked on image size and unchecked resample because that upscales the image and lowers the quality. After that I entered the desired dpi into the resolution box to change the resolution of the image. I repeated these steps for the 600dpi and 1200dpi images. At a higher dpi the printed image will look clearer but will also be smaller on the page.

In the second row only 2 of my photoshop files carried over to the contact sheet. For whatever reason I had a similar issue for a lot of my issues when converting them from photoshop to the app we used to put the mall together. I have the black and white (grayscale) image and the RGB image. In order to get the black and white picture I used the original rgb image in photoshop and went to channel mixer, checked the monochrome box, and adjusted the different color sliders until it looked right.

The third row focused on the orientation of images. Using the stock photo of the sailboat from the class folder, I cropped the picture using the crop tool in photoshop so that the boat was the main focus of the photo and some of the extra stuff was cropped out. The boat was also put into a focus point based on the rule of thirds. After that, I flipped the boat so that it was on the opposite side of the picture in the crop 2 photo. Using the image size feature I made the picture wider and less tall for a landscape photo. I lowered the width and increased the height for the portrait picture.

In the 4th row theres two closeup images and two wide angle images of fenway park. To get the closeup images I zoomed in on the parts of the image I wanted the close-ups for and cropped those parts out. I stretched the image in order to get the two versions for the wide angles.

The 5th row deals with representation and abstract images In order to make the abstract images I resized the original image so that it looked like the plant in the picture was also a face. The other abstract image was a closeup of the plant which looks like bamboo shoots. I didn’t change much about the representational images because they’re meant to look like original picture.

Purpose was the main topic for the last row. I looked up a a picture of musical artist, Lil Uzi Vert, and used different photoshop filters to change the way the picture looks. I used 5 filters in total and layered two of them on two the four images. The filters used are: cutout, filterflow, grain, puzzle, and journalistic.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started